Greetings Georgetown and Williamsburg County Community Stakeholders,

I was asked recently, what is a stakeholder?  My response was someone who has an interest, great concern or investment in our community.  We have approximately 93,000 stakeholders in Georgetown and Williamsburg counties.  The success of everyone, great or small – young or old, is heavily integrated in the health of our communities.  I recognize this as the President & CEO of Black River United Way (BRUW) and am working every day to ensure our initiatives provide avenues of success for ALL.  We accomplish these avenues of success through active partnerships with  local community organizations, businesses and our school districts.  We focus on the following:

  • Early Grade Reading Success known as Mission: Read.  Mission: Read is an early grade reading initiative focused on Birth – 3rd Grade that promotes a working collaboration between schools and communities, committed to the reading success of every child.  Our Bold Goal is that 90% of all third graders receiving Mission: Read supports will be on reading grade level by the end of 2031.
  • Disaster Resiliency through preparation and mitigation.  Our goal is to work with our community afterschool programs to ensure they have disaster plans and to bring five homes per year to a safe, secure and sanitary standard.

Our goals can be met, when we all work together.  When you partner with Black River United Way you donate more than money — you give the gift of literacy and community resiliency.

We appreciate you, OUR STAKEHOLDERS!  If you have any questions, please feel free to give me a call at 843-546-6317 or email at yolanda@blackriveruw.org.  Please continue to look at our website for updates and follow us on Facebook.

As always, thank you for LIVING UNITED!

Yolanda McCray

Our Staff

Black River United Way

Yolanda McCray

President/CEO

yolanda@blackriveruw.org

Black River United Way

Tamara Greene

Vice President of Community Impact

tamara@blackriveruw.org

Black River United Way

Trava Hendrix

Finance Manager

thendrix@blackriveruw.org

Black River United Way

Elken Grate

Education Manager

egrate@blackriveruw.org

Black River United Way

Kimberly Sharrrett

Volunteer Coordinator

kimberly@blackriveruw.org

Black River United Way

Dyanne Bradley

Home Repair Intake Specialist

dyanne@blackriveruw.org